Don’t ever let a 3 year old pick the room colors.

31 Jan

Dear Josh,

This is the crazy color scheme I told you about.  It’s a circus with black ceiling, trim, and doors.  Craziness.  Apparently the little one wanted the entire room black, but the parents thought that would be too extreme, so they came up with this lovely rainbow scheme.

The only problem is that this is quite possibly the hardest color arrangement to cover.  Black and red are supposedly the hardest.  So Kyle and I have bought the paint and supplies.  It’s slow going–so far we’ve only sanded down the walls.  We decided we both liked the color blue, so we went with a softer one and picked a dark maroon for ceiling and accents since that’s the color of our sheets.  I hope that color combination turns out well.  I thought some sort of teal and brown might be nice, but blue is relaxing.

I don’t know anything about painting, but I’ll assist with whatever.  I’ve already made Kyle get face masks after I saw crazy green color on a facial tissue from inhaling paint that we were sanding off.  We’re also going to rip up the carpet and shine up the wood underneath.  I just think carpet gets messy (having 4 cats and a dog in the house doesn’t help).  At least we don’t need to buy drop cloths to cover the floor since we’ll be re-doing it anyway.

It’ll be interesting to see what the final product looks like with all the books and furniture arranged.  Thanks again for helping me pack those books–it was like a second Christmas when I got them in the mail.

Peace and love, Brother.

Leave a comment